Spanking spoon

I’ve recently turned a corner on the view of using a spoon to spank my child. While I didn’t really follow the argument that your hand is for loving not discipline, that is one perspective. But more what gets me thinking is the process that goes with a spanking when you use a spoon instead of your hand. If I am able to impusively use my hand, I can tell there is more emotion to the act. But when I have to get the spoon (or if you can train your child to get it for you all the better!) and “set up” the spanking, it’s almost like counting to ten. It allows me to think about the process and why I am doing it, instead of just feeling frustrated that my kid disobeyed. I’ve also  noticed that when I spank my daughter with my hand, there is no reaction from her because I am not able to hit her hard enough (mentally more than physically). I’m not totally convinced yet, but it’s something to think about.

If your view of spanking is distorted, or you don’t know whether you spank to train your child or to vent your anger or frustration, first read “A perspective on spanking” or the resources listed. I do not condone spanking as a right to hit our children whenever we want, but as a responsibility as a parent to rescue their children from disobedience.

Resources from experts who offer more information on using spankings as a positive part of discipline:

  1. To Train Up a Child by Michael & Debi Pearl
  2. Shepherding a Child’s Heart by Tedd Tripp
  3. New Parent Power! by John Rosemond

“No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produced a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.” Hebrews 12:11

3 thoughts on “Spanking spoon

  1. Isn’t it funny how the “wisdom” of modern child-rearing has made spanking into a cultural no-no – while ages of wise child-rearing have shown it to be not only effective, but loving. Imagine that… the Bible is actually right…

    I’ve got some posts on spanking on my blog if you care to look…

    Thanks

  2. spanking spoon?? heck, i grew up with the spanking chopsticks and spanking spatula, and when nothing else was around, the spanking ruler. of course when i got older and learned that our dining room table could help me evade my mom, those lessened ;-)

  3. I agree. Though my boys now say I never used even the spoon hard enough to make my spankings effective.
    Two things are even more important in training children: Consistency and Prayer.

Leave a Reply

