Bragging, part II

My son, a Kindergartner, is in his second season of soccer through ALITHSA. I don’t mean to brag, okay, well yes I do, that’s the point of this post. But not about his athletic ability. Anyway, at almost 6 years old, Charlie is one of the oldest on his team of 4- and 5-year-olds. And physically he’s naturally strong and fast. So, it’s not surprising that he has control of the ball a lot during games and he scores quite a few goals. He loves to win! He and one of the girls on his team who is really athletically gifted and handles the ball well generally dominate. However, this year especially, I have seen great team work and just about everyone participates and has scored at least one goal. We talk occasionally about sharing the ball with your team mates and not “stealing” it if your team mate has the ball. Mostly, though, we play games that teach simple skills and just have fun. I love being their coach and it makes me smile that Charlie is proud to have me on the field with him.

This past Friday, Charlie had a particularly good game. He even scored the last goal at the last second with an angle shot, using his left (non-favored) foot. It was awesome!

But my favorite moment of the game came in the 3rd quarter. Charlie had control of the ball and moved toward the net. But instead of kicking it in for another goal … he passed the ball. He kicked it straight to a girl who has been on his team both seasons. She reminds me a lot of my daughter. She’s not as aggressive as other players, although she has shown a lot of improvement this year. I think she touched the ball more in the first game than she did the entire season last year! Anyway, she was in the right place to receive the ball and she kicked it right into the net for her first-ever goal! Her mom, who is the assistant coach, and I were so excited for her we jumped up and down and squealed with delight.

She for her daughter.

And me for my son and his generous assist.

One thought on “Bragging, part II

Leave a Reply

