Microphone Cake Pops

It’s not a Disco Dive Dance party without microphone cake pops!

I was determined not to make cake pops this year for my daughter’s annual park play date. We usually have so many moms and kids, it’s a lot of work. Plus, it makes a mess. With our house up for sale and showings etc, I gave myself the out weeks ago. And then the week of her park play date came and … here I was making cake pops. It was just meant to be. I had made 4 for her sleepover party and discovered it wasn’t so bad if I wasn’t using the melted chocolate or almond bark coating. Besides, I had 36 mini cones leftover (that I can’t imagine using for ANYTHING else, they are so *tiny*). I tweaked the recipe a bit (and used colored sprinkles instead of only silver), but they were easy and a hit with the kids!

Here’s how I did it:

Step 1.
Make a cake, per directions on the box. I made a vanilla cake from Betty Crocker.

Step 2. Let it cool, then crumble the cake into a large bowl.

Step 3. Add frosting, about 3/4 of a can (I used vanilla whipped frosting from Betty Crocker).

Step 4. Roll into balls (I squished two scoops of a small melon baller together).

Step 5. Put a light coat of frosting on the edge of the mini cone (and on the inside of the cone if you want, to make it more fun to eat).

Step 6. Place the cake ball on the cone.

Step 7. Frost.

Step 8. Cover with sprinkles!

Step 9. Serve! I poked one end of a toothpick into a styrofoam block (covered with tin foil) and inserted the cone onto it (make a hole in the cone with the toothpick first).

One thought on “Microphone Cake Pops

  1. Pingback: Birthday Party: Disco Diva Dance Party & Sleepover! | Mom-Me

Leave a Reply

