Moving faith

It was a hard decision to put our house up for sale. In a depressed market in a neighborhood with house prices slashing but no sales, without the cash flow for a down payment. Especially when we’ve lived in a neighborhood we love, with a big shady yard we enjoy, in a house we fixed up with our own two hands … for over a decade. Wait, why are we doing this again?!?

1. Physical needs. First, we’d like our son and daughter to have separate rooms. I love to hear my daughter read to her younger brother and I don’t mind when they giggle late at night. But … it’s getting to be time that they need their own privacy and space. They aren’t getting any smaller. And sharing a bathroom with them isn’t getting more fun. Anyway, if we’re making the effort to move, we are also looking to be able to host their friends as they grow and have get togethers of our own, without feeling like we are on top of each other.

2. Emotional healing. For me, especially, the move is more about moving forward. Looking to the future and leaving behind what’s past. In our marriage and in my family. I am excited about going on this moving adventure with my husband and my children so we can start a new chapter in our lives together. I do believe that this is a step in the healing process, one that we won’t even realize the impact of until after we settle into our new home … wherever it is.

3. Spiritual growth. I am already experiencing God’s working and looking forward to how the move will build my faith and bring glory to Him. Even at times when it seems the most impossible, I get excited because how cool will it be when God shows His perfect provision?! After years of waiting, I believe God has told us that it’s time. And that He will sell our house. We can’t control that part, so we have to trust God. Without a showing in two weeks, it’s time to flex that faith muscle! God is trying to teach me to give up control … without giving up hope. And so. We. Wait.

“This is the work of God, that you believe in him whom He has sent.” John 6:29

One thought on “Moving faith

  1. Pingback: Sold. | Mom-Me

Leave a Reply

