A mommy uniform

Today I am wearing my mommy uniform, so proclaimed by my adoring husband. It consists of black jogging pants (with a stripe so they’re fancy), a red cotton shirt (it’s cool today so it’s a long-sleeve one) and a black matching hoodie. And I guess I have to admit: I wore the same thing yesterday. Is it really that bad?

It’s clean! It’s a miracle in itself that it doesn’t have snot, throw up or any other results of natural bodily functions encrusted on it. It survived a day and deserves a second chance. So, maybe a day or two in between wouldn’t kill me. But it would require more thought. I have enough to do than to set up an excel spreadsheet (those of you know my husband will appreciate this reference) of my favorite cozy outfits to wear, how many times they’ve been worn and when they were last washed. So, I save myself the trouble and wear it two days in a row.

This also saves me from doing unnecessary laundry. If I am not careful, I err on the side of washing, which means something may have only been worn once and it goes in the washer. That’s a lot of extra work that could be saved by ensuring I’ve worn something to its full extent. Makes perfect sense to me. Besides, it’s comfy!

There’s a lot of pressure, at least in some circles, for moms to look good all the time. It’s part of the supermom image. If you don’t have time to do your hair or wear the latest fashions, you must not be a good mom, right? Ridiculous! I find the more effort I put into making myself look like the perfect mom, the less likely I am to feel like one. So, pull your hair into a basic pony, and wear your mommy uniform with pride!

“For the Lord does not see as man sees; for man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.” 1 Samuel 16:7

2 thoughts on “A mommy uniform

Leave a Reply

