A first prank

My 3-year-old pulled her first prank today. At least, it was the first time she intentionally deceived me for the sake of being funny … and she got me.

The cat pooped on the rug in our living room. This happens sometimes, and, yes, it’s gross. She’s old. Anyway, I had cleaned it up and was in the bathroom washing my hands when Avery called out from the living room: “There’s one more!”

Exasperated, but not surprised, I grabbed another paper towel and prepared to do more clean up. When I walked into Avery’s line of sight, she was holding it in her hand, waving her arm in the air, saying again, “There’s one more!” I was about to cry out in sheer horror when I got a little closer and realized she was holding a pickle from her play food set. She had a huge smile on her face. I chased her around the room and tickled her as punishment. It was pretty funny.

(I realize the fact that I felt the need to write “It was pretty funny.” means your probably not laughing, but I’ll take my chances.)

“Sarah said, ‘God has brought me laughter, and everyone who hears about this will laugh with me.’ ” Genesis 21:6

Leave a Reply

