What’s your problem?

I’m a screamer. I slam doors, I grunt and groan, I yell. It’s a flash temper that arises mostly when I am hot, frustrated, sad or tired. But it can get pretty ugly, and it’s all really very embarrassing if I think about it. Now that I have little ones, there is a new dimension to the problem as well. I do not want my anger to get in the way of our relationship, and I don’t want them to model their behavior after mine!

I’ve done my best to be a “supermom” and to appear to be one. But, we’ve all got our imperfections, and the harder I strive toward perfection on my own, the more my weakness seems to rear its ugly head.

However, God wants us to find solutions to our problems (I Corinthians 10:13), and I am taking the first steps to managing my anger in a healthy, Biblical way. One of the women from our large group Bible study who I have served along side has offered to provide free Biblical counseling. I am very excited because not only do I greatly respect this woman, but it’s free! You can’t beat the price.

I think counseling in some form would be ideal for every mom, whether you can find a trained professional to meet with you formally or if you have a mentor or support group of women in whom you can confide. Let me repeat that I did say “confide” and not “complain.” Most churches offer Bible studies or small groups for women—even moms specifically—that provide an environment where you can be open and honest about your struggles as a wife, a mother or a woman, and likely find someone who has been through or is going through the same difficulties.

If you do consider professional counseling, let me encourage you to find someone through your church or something like The Biblical Counseling Center. Secular psychologists may be able to help you temporarily, but the permanent solution is truth that will lead to a heart change. God gives us a model for just such a change; the Holy Spirit uses the Word of God to change us from the inside.

“All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction for instruction in righteousness; That the man of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works.” 2 Tim 3:16,17

2 thoughts on “What’s your problem?

Leave a Reply

