Aw, isn’t that cute? Or is it?

I really am not a fan of Halloween. The decorations are just plain ugly. And am I the only woman on the face of the earth who doesn’t think babies in a [insert your favorite cuddly creature here] costume is not the cutest thing I have ever seen? There was a “parade” of kids during a story time at the library this week while Charlie and I were playing in the kids’ books section. Parents who were watching were “ohhing” and “ahhing” over each one, and I just didn’t get it. Their little cheeky faces would be peaking out the round face hole, while the rest of their body is covered in a pajama-like fuzzy outfit, maybe with a tail. They don’t even smile! It’s a teddy bear with a human face … kinda silly. I can, however, appreciate an adorable home-made costume. If it’s clever and unique, you deserve some credit.

Pre-schoolers, on the other hand, are adorable. They are so excited to be their favorite princess, super hero or cartoon character. They really get into it; they can play a role to act out who they want to be.

But then there’s the whole idea of going door-to-door for candy. My kids get enough candy as it is from grandparents and parades and parties. And after years–or months in my case–of training kids not to take candy from strangers isn’t it a bit odd to tell them to knock on the doors of everyone we know–and even those we don’t know–to beg for some? I have a great time handing out candy, but I really have no interest in walking around the neighborhood asking others’ for theirs. I know it will be more difficult each year to avoid being involved in this part of the celebration, but, so far, Avery is very excited about passing out the candy to kids who come to us.

We are fortunate to have my husband’s parents provide the candy–full-sized bars left over from summer camp–so our house is popular. I print out a couple verses in a ghoulish font and tape them to the front. It’s a great way to be a subtle witness without being self-righteous. Some of my favorites (from last year and this year):

The LORD himself will be with you; He will never leave you nor forsake you. Deuteronomy 31:8

“Without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.” Hebrews 11:6

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord. “Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

Even youths grow tired and weary … but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. Isaiah 41:30-31

As much as we try to make it otherwise, I believe Halloween is a holiday incompatible with the Christian faith because of it’s pagan origins. Saying it’s “just for fun” or “harmless” even though that may be true for most, waters down the true meaning of any holiday. There is evidence that darker practices persist, and while as an adult I may be fully aware that the majority of us is only spoofing witches and ghosts, my children may not be so sure. What am I teaching them by conforming to the world “because it’s fun”? So, in this case, I’ll err on the side of caution.

“Whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.”
I Corinthians 10:31

See also Halloween.

2 thoughts on “Aw, isn’t that cute? Or is it?

  1. Great post! Growing up in the DR I never had the chance to go trick or treating till now that I have a son. I really have a hard time with this tradition. It was strange for me to go door to door begging for candy; maybe it wouldn’t be so strange if we had lots of friends in the neighborhood. Everyone is friendly in our area, but we don’t socialize …. I feel stupid going door to door one day of the year when all we do is wave and smile from our cars the rest of the year.

    I also don’t like how creepy some of the decorations are, I would never want to dress up my house like a cemetery or make it look like evil lives there. However, I have to admit that I really enjoy seeing my son dress up as his favorite super hero and I love handing out the candy. Your point about Halloween and taking candy from a stranger was awesome!!

    Here is another crazy thing we do with our kids that is crazy (or maybe I’m the only one puzzled by this): we have worked so hard to teach our son how important seat belts are and how we MUST always use them. This summer he went on his first field trip with daycare and he was so excited to ride the bus, but what was missing on the bus?? Yep, seatbelts! He had a hard time with this and kept saying that we were all going to get hurt.

  2. I totally agree about babies in costumes. And I certainly think we should have nothing to do with Halloween. Even if there is nothing directly evil in it, there is nothing to the glory of God or the good of our souls, either. Why should we learn the ways of the heathen?

Leave a Reply

