Anger management 101

In case you didn’t know, there are a lot of verses in the Bible about anger. For my anger management homework this week (actually, my counselor thankfully gave me two weeks), I was to look up 35, yes thirty-five, of them! Following are a few that really hit home for me on how NOT to deal with anger:

“Be angry, and do not sin, do not let the sun go down on your wrath, nor give place to the devil. ” Ephesians 4:26-27, 29

“A fool vents all his feelings, but a wise man holds them back … Do you see a man hasty in his words? There is more hope for a fool than for him.” Proverbs 29:11, 20

“You have heard that it was said to those of old, ‘You shall not murder, and whoever murders will be in danger of the judgment.’ “But I say to you that whoever is angry with his brother without a cause shall be in danger of the judgment.” Matthew 5:21

“But now you yourselves are to put off all these: anger, wrath, malice, blasphemy, filthy language out of your mouth.” Colossians 3:8

What I have learned from these verses alone (I still have the other half of my homework to do!) is:

  1. Venting in reaction to anger is sinful.
  2. Swearing and mean words will incur God’s wrath.
  3. I am a fool for reacting to my feelings without thinking.
  4. Anger gives the devil a foothold on my life.
  5. I will be judged for my actions.

Now, I have a lot of common sense. So, I know all of these things, and I have known them for quite some time. And if I were to see them in another person, I would easily be able to judge them (not that I should, obviously). In our own lives, though, it is harder to see that we are sinful, unless the Holy Spirit makes it painfully obvious, which has been the case in my life in the past seven months. But, even then, we often can justify it or believe the lie that we cannot control it. I have allowed Satan, the father of lies, to deceive me into thinking my behavior was okay because anger is an emotion, not sin, and it’s just “who I am.” Especially knowing there was a problem, and ignoring it so that it worsened, I believe Satan has had a foothold in that area, which began to affect other areas of my life. So, to be able to read these verses and know that they apply to me and my life, I know that some changes need to be made. Praise the Lord, I am on the right track!

“Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? Matthew 7:3

3 thoughts on “Anger management 101

Leave a Reply

