Wishing well prayer

I don’t believe in “wishes” so I’ve never quite known what to do about wishing wells. For a while, I decided just to ignore them. But then I noticed that many fountains donate the money thrown in as wishes to worthy organizations. So, I started to feel bad about my “boycott.

Today, I was at the mall with my kids. Avery loves the fountain, so we went to see it before we left … And she asked to throw money in. Those fountains full of coins are interesting to toddlers and preschoolers so I knew it might come up some day. We’ve never talked about it or done anything with the money before. So, here’s what I did. I showed her the sign posted about where the money was being donated, and I read it to her. Then I told her what we were going to do: pray. So, I had her repeat after me:

“Dear Lord,
I pray for the person who receives this quarter. Please bless them with the donation from this fountain, and use it to show your glory. Amen.”
Then, she threw in the coin (I would have liked to have used a penny as cheap as I am but a quarter was all I had!). She was so excited, and it was so simple. Such a small change in a usually routine thing (I don’t know many people who “boycott” wishing wells!) that can make a huge impact on my kids spiritually. She remembered at supper, with prompting, that she threw in the coin and that we prayed when we gave daddy an account of our trip.

“Therefore, I exhort first of all that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks be made for all men … For this is good and acceptable in the sight of God our Savior, who desires all men to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth.” 1 Timothy 2:1,3-4

Leave a Reply

