Outside the box

I am an inside-the-box thinker. I tend toward the obvious solution, the one most widely accepted or anticipated. My husband is most definitely an outside-the-box type. That’s what makes him a great engineer. But it also means he gets a lot of eye rolls from me for his ideas.

Not too long ago, he presented his next million-dollar idea. Because I am hearing impaired, I started watching television with the captions on, and now I am addicted. This makes going to the movies increasingly difficult. He suggested glasses that I could wear, somewhat akin to 3-D glasses, where I would be able to see captions displayed on the screen that wouldn’t have to interfere with other moviegoers views. “Ridiculous!” I thought, nobody is going to think that’s a good idea, although I might be willing to try it so that I could “hear” the conversations I often miss on the big screen. 

Not two weeks later, imagine my shock when I heard a  health news update on this very topic on a closed circuit tv while I was waiting at my doctor’s office (for a painstaking hour-plus, with the kids)! Microvision is developing what look like regular sunglasses that allow moviegoers to watch captions on the screen. While their proposal was exciting, it looks like a long period of R&D before their technology can come to fruition.

Long story short, I’m taking my husbands ideas more seriously. They may not be so bad after all!

One thought on “Outside the box

Leave a Reply

