Model for change

I choose. I can choose to be angry or joyful. I can choose to vent my anger, internalize it or release it. But in order to be transformed from my old self to the new self, I have to put off or stop the bad habits and put on or replace the good ones. This takes some work. Following a model for Biblical change, which requires repentance of the old behavior and obedience and faith, I now have a plan for being renewed in the spirit of mind. My goal is to apply the following verses and Biblical instruction to my life:

Ephesians 4:31 and Proverbs 16:32
Replace rage with patience and control

1 Corinthians 13:5 and Proverbs 19:11
Be slow to anger instead of easily angered

Proverbs 15:1 and Ephesians 4:29
Lift others up instead of using harsh words

Proverbs 29:11 and Galatians 5:23, Proverbs 25:28
Be controlled by the Spirit rather than venting anger

1 Corinthians 10:24, 13:5, Phil 2:3 and Isaiah 55:8
Follow God’s way and not my own way

I’ll be attempting to commit each of these verses to memory by writing them on index cards that I can recite–aloud–to write them on my heart. I can carry them with me or post them around the house, knowing that anything I pray within God’s will is already promised to me. He wants me to be victorious, and I can thank and praise Him in advance for that. What an awesome God!

“And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” Romans 12:2

Leave a Reply

