Best deal in town

If you live in the Chicago Northwest suburbs, have I got a deal for you  (although wherever you are there may be a school nearby). I usually have my hair cut by a friend, it’s free so I can’t beat that price, and she’s very talented. But for the special trip to completely chop my hair and donate the pony tail, I decided to go with another friend who wanted to check out The Salon Professional Academy‘s TSPA. Located just south of 90 on Randall Rd in Elgin, this small school provided excellent service. And my hair cut was $9, plus tip.

The girls were great (and I do mean “girls”–I felt  every one of my 31 years, 10 months and 29 days while in the chair). I had a sweet young woman named Marissa. She took her time, as the girls aren’t rushed to get to the next client. My friend also had her hair highlighted and, though it took for-ever, it looked amazing. Her hairdresser’s instructor was old-school and talked my friend into highlighting just the roots to avoid overdoing it, which I thought also showed the desire to do what’s best for the client and not the bottom line. Our appointments were at 9:30 and we didn’t get out of there until after noon, but my friend’s husband was watching our kids (kudos to him) so we were in no rush! If time is of the essence though, this may not be the place for you.

The instructurs are there watching over the students at all times to ensure quality and to grade the student on the performance. Marissa’s instructor got involved when I changed the cut halfway through. It’s been so long since I have had anything but a blunt cut, I forgot what “long layers” usually means and realized I was getting “the Rachel.” I panicked but calmly asked her to stop so we could come up with another option. She handled it well though. The instructor was available to help and I was able to come away with a new style I am very excited about.

I haven’t tried it yet but there is also a School of Massage in Crystal Lake that I hear is also a good deal. I imagine the customer service is similar.

Salon Pro Academy
Elgin, IL
847-376-0740
thesalonprofessionalacademy.com

The First Institute
School of Massage
Crystal Lake, IL
815-459-3500
www.firstinstitute.com

One thought on “Best deal in town

Leave a Reply

