To whose glory?

I need a reminder … again. I designed a very nice cover for our next series at church that was rejected because it wasn’t what they had in mind. So, I redid it. And it still wasn’t right. Finally, I had stripped any of my own creativity from the design so that all that was left was (what I thought was) a cliche of a logo and a plain background, and that’s what they wanted. There was nothing wrong with it, I mean, it certainly looks nice. But I was frustrated and, well, hurt. But, it’s ok. It’s not about having a finished product to be proud of–even though that would be nice–especially when you feel you’ve put yourself out there, and what you do reflects you. A wise friend once told me it’s about serving God and not myself. We need to be willing to use our gifts to serve the church, and, thus, serve God even if it’s not what I had in mind. It’s not about me and what I can get out of it–even though I know for me those can be very important too! So, as my friend encouraged me, I want to encourage you, if you’re ever in the same situation, to let it go. Don’t let the frustration be a source of bitterness for you. Give it to God, knowing you did your part. Your reward will be through Him, not earthly. With that, I can approach service differently, with a different attitude, and I hope you can, too.

“It is the LORD your God you must follow, and him you must revere. Keep his commands and obey him; serve him and hold fast to him.” Deuteronomy 13: 4

One thought on “To whose glory?

Leave a Reply

