Travel security or silliness?

I think airline regulations are ridiculous. It’s not that I don’t want safety, by all means, I want to be safe flying thousands of miles up in the air in a metal tube. But I think a  lot of the hoops we have to jump through to get on a plane is an illusion of safety, that actually may even make us less safe (meaning: wouldn’t it better if the security personnel was simply better trained to find weaknesses, without letting the entire world know what it is they are looking for or what they may overlook?).

I wholeheartedly believe that if a terrorist wants to get a weapon on the plane, they will find a way. Hasn’t anyone seen Con Air? j/k! Anyway, my point is, if we don’t have so much as a craft scissors or nail file, we are completely defenseless should an evil malcontent somehow may his way through the crack squad of security personnel. And terrorists can just as easily read these guidelines. Why TSA seems to think 6 bottles of 3 oz chemicals (in a baggie, of course!) is better than one 18 oz bottle, I’ll never understand. I think it poses a bigger danger, because they might be much more easily able to pass security without as much as a sniff from personnel. For example, perscriptions are fine so long as they are in the original packaging with the perscription information. Do they think a terrorist can’t imitate that or find a way to get a legitimate package to put whatever it is they need in?

But that’s just me. Maybe there’s more to the regulations than I know. Hopefully, it’s just a ruse to make the public feel safe and there is another entire level of security I’ll never know anything about. Thankfully, I have never been a nervous flyer, and I can look forward to my trip to AZ this week (even if it means flying home with my two kids by myself at naptime–yikes!)

One thought on “Travel security or silliness?

  1. Sara, I just want to say that I really enjoy coming to your blog. You are very insightful and I am always uplifted when I read from your site. I just wanted to let you know. Thanks! Denise

Leave a Reply

