You’re fired!

Do you ever just feel that if being a stay-at-home mom was a job in the working world, you’d be fired? I’m tardy, sometimes I give up early, I sleep on the job, I fail on many cooking assignments and forget or just plain don’t get to half my projects, I’m inconsistent in management/discipline, I don’t delegate well, my emotions get in the way, and I spend a lot of time chatting with co-mommies.

The past several days, I have especially felt like I’m not “being a good mom.” A combination of bad weather, sick kids and lack of sleep (plus some stress), has got me down in the dumps, which makes it that much harder to stay on top of things. It’s a dangerous place to be when I want to train my children up in the way that they should go. It’s an easy rut to fall into though. A big sigh and “whatever” and we’re right back in it. The kids pick up on my temperament, of course, and I am too weak to discipline properly. So, rather than fail in discipline, I give up on it altogether–it’s not working anyway! I find that bad days usually come when I need a reminder that God is in control, and I need to put my confidence in Him, and not myself.

I hate when this happens, but once in a while, it’s ok. Everybody’s going to have bad days. The key is not to let it effect the next day … and the day after that. Thankfully, it’s usually pretty rare that my kids watch any tv during the day, so when a “bad day” comes, that’s usually where I’ll turn. They can watch a movie or favorite show (or two or three) while I take some much-needed time to myself. My kids also love books, so sometimes we’ll just stay in our jammies and spend as much time as possible cuddled in a bed or on the couch reading books. That way, we’re still having family time but I can avoid imagination play which wears me out, especially when I am emotionally drained.

Call a friend! Another option, if you are blessed with great mommy friends like me, is to call another mom who won’t mind a playdate. It’s helpful for me whether I get the time off or if I go chat with her while the kids play. The kids are distracted, and we moms can encourage and support each other. Chances are we both needed the help!

So, what do you do when you have days where you don’t think you can hear your darling little one say “momma. momma. momma.” even one more time? How do you change the pattern of your day in the making?

“The promise is for you and your children and for all who are far off—for all whom the Lord our God will call.” Acts 2:39

One thought on “You’re fired!

Leave a Reply

