Tackle it Tuesday: Kitchen design review 1

I am swapping services with interior designer Tricia Nicole Parker, so we met today for a kitchen design consultation. I was getting overwhelmed with all the color choices, particularly when I know we are combining two wood colors: Mullican St. Andrews natural or caramel oak floors ($3.60/sq ft at Flooring Discount Warehouse in Crystal Lake, IL) and maple Medallion cabinets with a cherry finish from Menards. We looked at a few counter selections and made preliminary selections for the wall color. I am so glad not to be on my own! So, we’ll be meeting again soon with larger color swatches and real counter samples (instead of the paper printed copies). It’s fun to “see” the kitchen coming together!

Here are two of the combinations we came up with, which will need some tweaking. I like the golden color on the walls the best, but it doesn’t quite go with the counter we selected. The other combination is great but the floor color is probably too light for the rest of the house. My husband and I will be getting samples of the flooring to make a decision there when we get closer to deconstruction.

kitchen-002.jpg Golden oak floors, classic cherry cabinets, Hubbard Squash (SW0044) walls and Light Brown Mojave Corinthian counters (Menards)
kitchen-002.jpg Natural oak flors, classic cherry cabinets, Portrait Tone (SW0039), and Light Brown Mojave Corinthian (Menards) counters

5 thoughts on “Tackle it Tuesday: Kitchen design review 1

  1. She wants to publish a quarterly newsletter on her web site so I helped her come up with some ideas and am designing a template for her.

  2. Hi Sara,
    I did a word search of my name and this word press review popped up. How neat! I am thinking of adding an open dialog word press with my clients under a blog page. What do you think? Also, wanted to know if you could read and edit my About your Designer page. I surveyed a client and she suggested I make it sound more personal. So I did and need your opinion.
    Thanks,
    Tricia

  3. Golden oak floors, classic cherry cabinets, Hubbard Squash (SW0044) walls and Light Brown Mojave Corinthian counters (Menards) are best combination for me… I’m sure you’ll have a perfect kitchen remodel this time… good luck! :)

Leave a Reply

