As for me and my house, we’ll trust in the Lord

I am a trusting person. So much so that I get teased by my friends because it leads to some poor decisions. I like that I am trusting though. I know that it stems, ultimately, from my trust in God and His promise to care for me. But I have noticed a discord in that characteristic recently. When it comes to money, I don’t trust anyone but me (and my husband).

I am having a hard time giving up control to a general contractor for our remodeling project. I don’t trust that they have our best interest in mind or that they won’t help us try to find ways to keep costs down. And, ultimately, I am not trusting God that He has our best interest in mind and that He will provide what we need (again, it just may not be what I think we need).

Instead, I lay awake at night with a pit in my stomach, going through every line item to find ways to save money, and trying to get 2 + 2 to equal 3 so we can afford everything we (well, I) want.

Thankfully, I see the error of my ways and am asking for God’s help in taking this burden from me:

“Lord, I believe; help my unbelief!” Mark 9:24

One thought on “As for me and my house, we’ll trust in the Lord

Leave a Reply

