Don’t waste your life

Ok. I get it. I think I have finally exhausted myself to complete brokeness by obsessing over every detail of our kitchen remodel/addition. I finally get it. If it’s meant to happen, it will happen. I need to let God take care of all the details and just stop worrying about it. Total surrender. I feel like I have said this before, maybe a “fake it until you make it kind of thing.” But something totally clicked yesterday and I feel this burden lifted off my shoulders. Why would I try to carry something like this by myself? Nothing up to this point has worked out in our favor, or so it seems. And I am so frustrated because it seemed so “unfair.” But, what’s fair? We don’t deserve anything. We have no right to anything. If you are a Christian, you and all you have, including your “rights,” belong to God.

I haven’t been blogging about the house much lately because I didn’t want it to come across as whining. I knew it then and I know it now: it’s meaningless! It’s a house. We have a place to call home. We have all that we need to function as a family. Don’t waste your life whining and wishing! Focus on God’s will and purpose and promises for your life instead … And worship! There are more important things to contend with when you look at life through a spiritual lens. Life is too short not to.

“What causes fights and quarrels among you? Don’t they come from your desires that battle within you? You want something but don’t get it. You kill and covet, but you cannot have what you want. You quarrel and fight. You do not have, because you do not ask God.” James 4:1-7

“The earth is the LORD’s, and everything in it, the world, and all who live in it.” Psalm 24:1

Leave a Reply

