Still saying goodbye

Every day since last Thursday, Avery has asked earnestly “Why my kitty not coming back?” I know it’s a difficult concept for her to understand, I barely understand it myself. So, I can’t complain that she’s not “getting it” even though it’s frustrating. I just feel so sad for her when she asks because she just wants to hold or pet the cat or have her sleep in the bed with her, especially when she is stressed or sad about something else.

Friday morning as I was brushing my hair in the bathroom, she came in and cried, almost in a fake way, saying, “I want my kitty.” I gave her a hug and we sat down to talk about it. Then, we took down all of her stuffed animals that were hanging on the hook in her room and has been more attached to them than usual since. She rediscovered her plush kitty, and likes to make her “talk” and will move the head around like it’s a real cat. We did talk about getting another kitty but we let her know that it wouldn’t be right away, so it’s okay to miss kitty.

I keep trying to emphasize that she lived out all the days that God had given her, and we can be thankful that we got to spend the time with her that we did. Then I explain, again, that she was old and sick and that she died because her time here was done. I really can’t say much more than that. At least I can’t think of any other way to help her understand.

Overall, I think it’s a good experience. It allows us to talk seriously and to share our emotions. It’s a hard lesson to learn so it’s good to have an opportunity now, with something we can think rationally about. I do feel sad for the kids though. They really did enjoy having the cat around.

Leave a Reply

