Things are not always what they seem

I am in shock today as I find out about the arrest of a “suburban Chicago man” who was charged Monday with possessing an illegal toxin found in puffer fish. I didn’t know Ed Bachner that well, but I have friends who live in his neighborhood. I’ve played volleyball and board games with him. I have been to his house. His wife has watched and played with my children …Ed seemed to me a normal man. Very nice, not overly outgoing. He was terrible at games, and always seemed to lose, but he was a good sport about playing anyway, and we’d often have a laugh about it. To see him on the news and the way that people are talking about him grieves me. I have to believe that it’s not what it seems. Obviously, I have no clue what happened or why. I don’t know if there is a reasonable explanation or if he add ill intent. But, I have to give him the benefit of the doubt. This is just too crazy.

Whether I am right or wrong, it’s frightening to me. Whether it was a stupid mistake or poor decision that escalted to the FBI knocking on his door, or if he’s not what he seems, it makes me think twice about the world we live in. I know I won’t look at other arrests the same. My heart and prayers especially go out to his wife, family and close friends who are completely blind-sided by this news and how their lives will be turned upside down.

The good news is that as Christians, we are aliens in this world. We are here for such a short time. If life were easy and simple, we’d have no need for Christ in our lives and no desire to leave it all behind for Heaven.

Jesus said, “My kingdom is not of this world … my kingdom is from another place.” John 18:36

One thought on “Things are not always what they seem

  1. Bachner had money and all the indications of a good life. But, something was missing. Religion was only a cover.

Leave a Reply

