Is God afraid of the dark?

My husband and I were watching a movie last night when I heard Avery call for me. She was having a hard time falling asleep (she’d had a later than usual nap and she actually slept so I knew it would be a later night for her). She said she was afraid, which is her way of letting me know she just wants me to stay with her a while because she can’t sleep. I usually kiss her on the head and sing the VeggieTales’ “God is bigger than the boogeyman …” as I say good night and leave the room. This time, though, she said she wanted to ask me a question (another way to stall). I wanted to just keep walking, but I went in and let her ask. She wanted to know why God was in Heaven. And why He comes up and down [to earth]. I am glad I didn’t brush her off! We had a great conversation about God and Jesus, His Son. Then she asked if God was afraid of the dark and I said “No! He is the light. He brings light into all darkness.” Of course, she didn’t understand but she let that sink in. “Is He scared?” she asked. No, but sometimes we are. We talked for a while about all the different emotions we have and how it’s okay to be scared or happy or sad or angry. But you can be brave in all situations because God is on your side. She asked if God would save her from the darkness. “Yes!” He can and will save anyone and everyone who asks Him to. So, we started naming all the people we know and love who could could be “safed.” It was a good 20 minutes before I was able to resume my movie night, but it was time well spent!

When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” John 8:12

Leave a Reply

