Tackle it Tuesday: I must confess

Our pastor this week talked about the CHAT method of prayer: Confession, Honor, Ask, Thanks. The lack of consistency in the use of the acronym aside, I was convicted of my lack of confession in prayer recently. I am good at asking, for all things big and small, but I tend to throw in a little confession, honor and thanks here and there. Instead, I’m trying out this method with confession first and it can be really powerful! It’s amazing how much the confession and request can go hand in hand.

It doesn’t help that I have a lot to confess before God lately. I have been selfish, impatient, angry, hopeless, anxious, controlling, materialistic, and lacking joy and lacking belief. I’ve been focused on what I want and when I want it. I’m mad when I don’t get it and I’m sinning in my anger, with the words that I use and with my attitude toward my family and my God.

I ask God to replace these with patience, joy, hope and selflessness. Help me to enjoy my children and love and respect my husband, to seek after God and dwell in His presence. Focus on others and serving their needs rather than my own desires.

Praise God that He is my Father, Comforter, Counselor, Provider, Avenger in the unjust. He does want whats best for me and if I let Him be in control, He will provide what’s best for me and my family. I need to celebrate His victories and trust in him to provide, avenge, comfort, counsel … Be. Lord, help me overcome my disbelief!

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your mind in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:6-7

4 thoughts on “Tackle it Tuesday: I must confess

  1. This sounds just like me lately. Thanks for the reminder. I love it when God uses something as ordinary as a blog entry to really speak to someone. :) Hugs, Denise

Leave a Reply

