Birthday party: Hot Wheels!

Oh, we also had a birthday party for Charlie’s birthday this weekend! He turned two last Sunday and we finally had everybody (and I do mean everybody) over for a Hot Wheels themed BBQ. We tried to keep it simple, but I still had fun with some of the decorations.

Colors
Black, white and red

Decor/supplies
Hot Wheels banner (I made this, imitating the Hot Wheels logo and my husband was able to print it at work)
Hot Wheels cake plates and napkins from the party store
Red dinner plates, napkins and bowls
Black table cover (with yellow construction paper for lane lines)
Black and white streamers with a few red curly ribbon bunches
Pit stop (bathroom), fuel (food and drink) and weight limit (on trampoline) street signs, as well as caution: construction and “no thru entry” for the kitchen remodel (I just printed on 8.5×11 paper)
Hot wheels and other car toys and car mat
Oh, and one orange cone on the cake table, which I bought at the dollar store

Food
Lemonade mixed with generic Sprite
Cheese Ritz sandwich crackers
Generic oreo cookies
Wheels macaroni
Hamburgers (with checkered flag toothpicks I made with label stickers)
Hot dogs (I saw cute race cars online made with the buns but I didn’t do this)
Hot Wheels fruit snacks
Veggie tray and chips
Hot tamales

Cake
I made the cake totally last minute so I was disappointed in it but it was still cute. It was hot so the frosting was melting. I recommend making the cake the day before and frosting it in the evening, so you can put it in the fridge, if you make something like this when it is warm.

I made two cakes with 9×11 cake pans. Putting the flatter one on the bottom, I frosted them together. Then I carved just enough to make a spoiler in the back and a lower hood in the front. Round off the front a bit, too. I frosted the windows white and the rest of the car yellow (I did a red car last year for Lightning McQueen and it was rather pink and I used A LOT of dye, so I decided to try something else, but a darker color would be better. On second thought, I should have just used chocolate frosting and made it brown). I used a black gel writer to put Charlie’s name on the hood and the number 2 on the top and sides, like a race car. Added Oreos for wheels, although they were a bit small for the size of the cake.

Activities
Since we invited our friends, we mostly made it a BBQ social. We also had the trampoline we acquired this summer. I did make red, yellow and green flags for a greenlight/redlight kind of game but we never got around to that. I had the cars out for little ones to play with and a basket with balls for kids and adults.

Goody bags
I found race car goody bags at the dollar store, as well as race cars filled with pez-type candies. I also included tootsie rolls, chocolate candy and Hot Wheels stickers.

2 thoughts on “Birthday party: Hot Wheels!

  1. Hello fantastic website! Does running a blog similar to this take a lot of work?
    I’ve very little expertise in computer programming but I had been hoping to
    start my own blog in the near future. Anyhow, should you have any ideas or tips
    for new blog owners please share. I know this is off topic nevertheless
    I simply wanted to ask. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

