I don’t like you

“I don’t like you you.” Have you ever had your little one say this to you? Thankfully, my kids haven’t yet, but I get a lot of “Grrrrr” and stomping feet when things don’t go their way so I am sure those days aren’t in the too distant future. I remember once when I was about 7 months pregnant with my first baby, my niece, who was maybe 3 at the time, said “I don’t like you” to my sister. Being the emotional, hormone-crazy prego that I was, I cried. What a devastating thing to hear from your child! It was even more powerful than if she had said “hate” I think, because she seemed to really mean it. My sister, unfazed, scooped her up (mostly to remove her from the video game at Best Buy that she wanted to play) and nose-to-nose said, “Well, I like you. I love you. I decided a long time ago to love you.” I couldn’t believe it! What a perfect response. Even though she brought me to tears, she got no emotional reaction from her mom.

Well, I’m telling you this because I am throwing one of these tantrums myself right now. I am fuming in the corner with my arms crossed, saying “I don’t like you” to God. I know it’s because I am being immature and selfish, things just aren’t going my way the way that I think they should. It’s especially frustrating when you can’t see the whole picture. I want to know the whys and the hows. How is everything going to work out for the best? In my limited view of the world, my past, present and future, all I know is how and why I would like things to happen. My niece didn’t understand that the game was too advanced for her and she would get frustrated with it, and that we had other fun things to do. All she knew was that there was a fun game with characters she recognized on a computer and she wanted to play, play, play!

So, here I am, waiting, peeking ever-so-slightly out of the corner of my eye, waiting for His reassuring hug and an “I love you.”

One thought on “I don’t like you

  1. Sara, you are a true blessing to me. I love reading what you write on your site. I read it daily. Your honesty and art in writing has encouraged me many times. You make yourself vunerable and speak from your heart when alot of us are to afraid to speak the truth. I pray that God will richly bless you for the work you are doing for him. I pray he will also bless the remodeling of your kitchen. You are a true blessing and God is using you mightly. I know it is not easy what you are dealing with but you ARE blessing others.

    deb

Leave a Reply

