Lost in the city

I’ve got a part-time job, just a few hours a week, helping a friend with some marketing for a business intelligence consulting company that is launching a Chicago office. It’s a lot of phone calls, but I also was invited to attend monthly roundtable discussions and quarterly summits to help greet people, mingle and take notes. I know it doesn’t sound like much, but to a SAHM, this is awesome! I have desires to go back to work, even though I don’t plan to actually act on them, and this is just the right opportunity to get me out of my usual routine, get out of the house and out of my “mommy uniform” and into a new environment where I can be a professional again. I spent a lot of time at conferences and trade shows as an editor, so I get an adrenaline rush from the experience. I’ve also found that the business intelligence topic intrigues me just enough to keep me interested.

Anyway, today was the first monthly meeting downtown Chicago. So, the plan was that I would meet my friend on the Metra, though he was getting on an earlier stop than me. I was so nervous about making it to the train on time (had to catch the 6:34am!) that I was there plenty early to park, buy my ticket, use the restroom (definitely want to avoid the train bathrooms at all cost) and sit for about one minute before the bell began to ding. I didn’t even give it a second thought that it might not be the train I was to board. When he wasn’t in the agreed meeting spot, I began to panic. I walked all the way through the train in case I misunderstood which end he’d be on. No Jeff! ACK. It never even occurred to me that we wouldn’t meet up on the train so I didn’t know what I was going to do. I knew the association where we were meeting, but not the address, other than South Wacker Dr. Even if I plot my routes thoroughly, I get confused in the city (why can’t the streets just be numbered?!?) I don’t know whether they run north/south or east/west. Unless I can see the lake, forget it. Anyway, I figure there’ll be map at the station. So, I found a seat, sat down, prayed it would work out, then cracked open my book.

When the train arrived, I prayed again, pleading. But I don’t see a map anywhere, so I head out the main entrance at Ogilvie Station and … just start walking. I finally found a bus stop with a map, looked all over for Wacker Dr and realized it was about 10 steps in front of me! What a relief. Now, the problem is finding the right building. I remembered, thankfully, that it was near the Sears Tower so I headed that direction. I stopped in three buildings (first crossing the street several times and going north and south without a lot of rhyme or reason) before I found the right one, and had a friendly chat with the building concierge for a few minutes just in case they might be of help (not really) and to warm up. Not a good day to be wandering the streets of Chicago! It was like 10 degrees outside. When I saw the building, about a block off, I just knew it. I had a huge grin on my face and just started praising God. I was so excited! As I was riding the elevator, I just smiled and said to God: “You, you are … something else.”

I know this was a long story, but it’s important to me. Because … everything turned out okay, and I exercised my faith that everything would turn out okay. I stayed calm, which is so unlike me! Picture, if you will, Elaine from the episode of Seinfeld where she’s taking a crowded subway to a wedding and it stops, starts and then stops again. She’s gritting her teeth and screaming inside: “Why is this happening to ME?!? What’s going on?! Get me outta here!!!” That’s me in a nutshell in frustrating situations where I can’t see the big picture. When I come up against big challenges, I seem to have less trouble exercising faith, but I’ve often struggled with God in the “little things” because I don’t see reason for them. I’m not sure of all the details, but I experienced important spiritual growth today, in that 30 minutes between the train and the 15th floor of the building at 200 South Wacker Dr.

“Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much.”
Luke 16:10

One thought on “Lost in the city

  1. Sara,

    Your words are ALWAYS an encouragement to me. I love reading about how God is working in your life. It give me the encouragement to keep going. Been struggling with my own faith issues lately. Thank you for your honesty and encouragement.

Leave a Reply

