Fun Monday: Extreme transformations

Try as I might, dieting doesn’t seem to work for me. I.like.food. Junk food. I like pizza and chocolate and hot dogs and Cheetos. I can come up with all kinds of excuses, I know. I have spent most of my life worrying about my weight and I am no better off today than I was the first time I thought, “Am I fat?” In fact, in every stage of my life I look back and think about how great I looked then. I keep trying to remind myself that will never look as good as I do right NOW. In other words, be thankful for what I have and the body that God gave me.

I went on a women’s retreat this past weekend. What do you think is going to be talked about when you gather a group of 35 Christian women of all shapes and sizes? Diet and exercise … and hair! I couldn’t believe how many hours of conversation were devoted to self-improvement. But we were, in fact, talking about transformation. Spiritual transformation of course, but as women, we can take many lessons from the cosmetic and fashion world and apply Biblical principals.

The speaker, Elizabeth Murphy from Elmbrook Church in Waukesha, WI, was fantastic. She made a spiritual parallel between the popular fashion makeover show What Not to Wear based on Colossians 3. She found spiritual lessons seeped in that show … It was amazing. One of the things she pointed out was the 360-degree mirror that the nominees stood in front of so that they could see every angle of themselves–horrifying, I know. It was only then that they’d become engaged in the process and submit themselves to the experts. We should be that way with God. We need to examine ourselves from every angle using His Word as our mirror and then submit ourselves to Him, as the Expert.

A little discontent is good when action needs to be taken. As for me and dieting … I do need to pay better attention to what I eat. I want to have a healthier body. But dieting only makes me obsessed with food. And I swear I eat worse. I think I will have better success thinking about fitness goals and stop thinking about weight loss goals. If I pursue my fitness goals, weight loss will be a natural side effect. And when I am exercising, I tend to eat better, even if I indulge–without guilt–occasionally. I’m just waiting for something to really motivate me (a 360-degree mirror perhaps?) to start an exercise program! Unfortunately, I am a task-oriented exerciser. I like to run to someplace or work in the garden or play a sport with friends or … whatever. Actually, what it really takes is competition. I am a competitive person so that usually gets me going. To exercise for the sake of exercise makes it even harder to get motivated. It will take extreme desire to accomplish something as lofty as a fitness or weight loss goal! Trust me, I’ve tried many times!

“You have taken off your old self with its practices and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator.” Colossians 3:9b-10

Thanks to Mama Rehema for hosting this week’s Fun Monday: Diets.

Leave a Reply

