Garbage in, garbage out

I’ve been thinking more about my previous post on dieting. Why can’t I make it work? I know the rules, it’s not that. I know what I need to do: burn more calories than I take in. Whether I eat better or exercise more doesn’t matter. But I notice when I’m thirsty, I grab a pop instead of water which will satisfy my thirst. When I’m craving food, I eat chocolate instead of an apple or other nutritious food that my body needs. When I am lacking energy, I “rest” instead of exercising to revive myself. I make poor decisions.

I was thinking today how easy it is to do that in our spiritual lives, too. Instead of going to God and His Word to fill up with truth when we are fearful, angry, depressed or unsure, we turn to the world and its “wisdom” and feed those emotions. And again, it’s not because we don’t know what we should do. It’s just a matter of doing it. The result of living in a sinful world with a sinful nature that is constantly being encouraged, ahem not by God, to disobey Him. Garbage in, garbage out.

But God has the answers, all we need to do is fill ourselves with His truth, to become so farmilar with it so that we can defend ourselves from these attacks, whether from the world, Satan or even yourself.

“If you abide in My Word … you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” John 8:31-32

2 thoughts on “Garbage in, garbage out

  1. No, I don’t think so. I think we rely on willpower too much. We will fail if we rely on our own strength. That is why we need the Holy Spirit, God living us to give our life power. God-power, not willpower.

Leave a Reply

