Purpose-Truth-Action

I was doing really well today, my second day of “watching what I eat” until I *almost* ate an entire 2.5 servings of Mini Whoppers. Eep. If there’s one thing I know, it’s that dieting takes willpower. And I just. don’t. have. it. I have made, ahem, wisER choices over the past two days, but I still have a long ways to go. I like food. I like yummy food that is bad for you. Most of the time, I eat food without even being aware that I am eating it. Part of the reason I wanted to do this “diet”–though I hesitate to call it that–is that I have recently become aware of my constant snacking. I just can’t seem to stop. Thinking about not eating food doesn’t help. So, back to square one.

I’m reminded of a motivational speaker who talked about finding success in setting goals, whether in living a healthy lifestyle or performing well in your job. Part of what he talked about can be found in the book The Power of Full Engagement: Making changes is a 3-step process: Purpose-Truth-Action.

Purpose: Creating a compelling vision fuels change. In other words, if you really want to do it, you will do it. I’m hoping to be motivated by making myself vulnerable to my friends and family by posting my desires on this blog. Not to mention my increasing desire not to grow OUT of my fat pants.

Truth: We regularly underestimate the consequences of our choices. By honestly acknowledging the foods I eat and recording them, I can see myself for what I am: an overindulger!

Action: Take action! The problem is will and discipline are far more limited resources than most people realize. Even distraction, while effective, will only work temporarily. By developing habits instead, you can acquire a pattern of behavior that occurs automatically, without thinking (sound familiar?).

In other words, replace those bad behaviors with healthy habit to close the gap between who you are and who you want to be. Got it? Good. Let’s hope I do, too.

Dilley’s M&M experiment:

Leave a Reply

