Let go, and let God

I am sure you’ve heard someone in your life say this to you or maybe you’ve said it yourself: “Let go, and let God.” I know I have. But I struggle with what that really means. What level of action is too little or too much to affect needed change or even a life blessing? A friend was telling me about how God revealed an answer to him recently, after wrestling with its meaning for years. He described it as a three step process:

First, you have to pursue God. Develop a relationship with Him, spend time in prayer and in reading the Bible, to catch a glimpse of who we are in Him. Who God sees us to be. Basically, lay the foundation for wise decisions that will keep us on God’s designed path for our lives. Okay, gotta work on that one. With our new schedule, my priorities have really slipped. It doesn’t take long to replace good habits with bad ones!

Second, make decisions based on the knowledge you have or can seek out from others (including through prayer), to the best of your abilities. So, take action. Make a decision. Sometimes in life the worst decision is no decision at all. Because my husband and I have always been indecisive, I’ve made an effort to talk with Avery about the importance of making choices, with confidence. I’ve resigned myself to the fact that no matter how much time I put into the decision, I tend to make the “wrong” one. But either way …

Third, you have to trust that God that things will work out, knowing that you did everything you could to make the best decision possible. It’s in His hands. Whether everything works out perfectly the way you thought it would or it all falls apart and you end up completely dependent on Him. Either way, there’s no amount of worry or stress that will prevent it or change it. So, let go. And let God take care of the rest.

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:34

One thought on “Let go, and let God

  1. I think it has more to do with Trust than anything. We still have to do all we can on our end to be the best we can be, put forth our efforts in life, actively be engaged in the process.

    But knowing someone bigger than ourselves is there when needs us helps going through life a lot easier.

Leave a Reply

