Simple truths

I realized the other night that part of why I was panicking with Avery in school is that she’s not in any kind of organized Bible class. When she was 3, she did AWANA and last year PDO (a Biblical based preschool class) and BSF. This year, with Kindergarten she isn’t able to do any of those. Of course, we do have Sunday School to inspire questions and discussions and I try to find teachable moments. But we’ve been so busy that without being intentional, I just haven’t been satisfied with the amount of time that we’ve spent on spiritual discussion.

After making this realization, I decided I had to get more intentional. Thankfully, we’ve gotten into a good routine each day of school-lunch-play-homework-quiet time-dinner-play-bed time. So, on Wednesdays, when Charlie and I have BSF, all three of us do the children’s lesson for that day together before Avery does her school work. Then, on Friday (for which homework each week is simply to go through her reader with me) I’ll have a weekly Bible lesson–just me and Avery. This week, since it was such a spur of the moment (albeit of Divine inspiration), we simply talked about the Holy Trinity. We practiced writing the letters for and spelling: God, Jesus and Spirit. She drew a triangle and wrote each name on it and I explained the relationship of three in one. It won’t be the first or the last time she’s heard some of what I said, but timeless, simple truths can’t be overdone.

“Yet for us there is but one God, the Father, from whom all things came and for whom we live; and there is but one Lord, Jesus Christ, through whom all things came and through whom we live.” 1 Corinthians 8:6

2 thoughts on “Simple truths

  1. I appreciate the inspiration. It is too easy to think that the spiritual extra things are kids are involved in, even though they are wonderful and encouraging, provide enough spiritual food. Truly, we need to be feeding them ourselves, so they know what we believe and know how precious the Word is to us. The other things can be the cherry on top of the sundae. Thank you for the reminder! Loved your trinity idea.

Leave a Reply

