What is death?

Death. Decease, demise, passing, departure. Departure. When we are physically dead, we are forever–forever–separated from the living. It’s the ultimate departure from basically everything we know. Serious stuff. Not something we like to think about. But it is inevitable. Spiritual death, an eternal separation from God, on the other hand, is even more serious.

Sometimes people find little significance in Satan’s “lie” to Eve in the garden. I mean after all, she and Adam didn’t “die” afterall, did they? Depends on your definition. They were forever separated from God physically as well as from the Tree of Life and the garden of paradise. As one friend pointed out the last time we studied this passage, how did they even know what “death” was anyway? Nobody had died before and there was no expectation of their death. But instead of being sent to the ground, they were sent away (interestingly enough, leaving the tree in tact instead of taking it away, not a bad piece of parenting advice). The way I see it, death=separation.

There is nothing we can do to fix that broken covenant. But God has made it possible to commune with Him again. When I submitted my life to Christ as a sophomore in high school, I bridged that gap (well, Jesus did, but my decision is what seals the deal for me). I have been called by speakers on two occasions recently to “remember” my past, specifically the journey to a life submitted to Christ. With the second prompting this morning at BSF, I decided I better not ignore the Spirit again (and facebook makes it so easy)! I sent a note to two people from those days who had the clearest impact in helping me develop a desire for something more, and leading me spiritually to an understanding of who Jesus is and why I am in need of Him.

It’s easy once we become Christians to forget the transition that we made to a life of Christ, and what it means. LIFE instead of DEATH. Now, with every decision we make, if we listen to the Spirit leading our lives, we can lead to others making the ultimate decision as well. Our job is to point people to Christ. It’s not about us. It’s all about Him.

“I tell you the truth, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be condemned; he has crossed over from death to life.” John 5:24

One thought on “What is death?

  1. Some good stuff, I’ve been enjoying your insight in the Word. You have a great spirit and understanding of what God wants from us. I hope many women read your blog, it’s a tremendous inspiration for all.

Leave a Reply

