Foundation first, cookie later

Well, I kept Avery home from school today (to avoid the Halloween party in her classroom, which I admittedly made the mistake of avoiding earlier in the year and just didn’t know enough about to know what all was going to happen). Right or wrong, I don’t know. But I know I don’t feel guilty about it and Avery doesn’t seem to be one bit bothered by it. She was disappointed to miss out on a day of school, or rather of riding the bus with her friends, but she recovered quickly and we had a busy day of decorating their room like a castle, dressing up, preparing the candy for trick-or-treaters tomorrow and baking muffins.

She still seemed uncertain why she was staying home so we talked about Halloween some more. This time, I explained it this way … The Bible says “Everything is okay but not everything is good.” It’s kind of like eating cookies. God doesn’t say that we can’t eat cookies, but it’s not very good for us. If we have a good meal and give our body the food it needs first, we can have a cookie (like she did today after lunch). It’s okay to participate in Halloween, but it’s not good for us, spiritually. So, right now, we have decided she doesn’t need Halloween in her life.

I think that once Avery has a firm foundation in the Lord, when she can guard her heart, she will be able to participate in more aspects of the day (such as the school party), if she wants to. We’ll see.

“Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.” Proverbs 4:23

“ ‘All things are lawful for me,’ but not all things are helpful. ‘All things are lawful for me,’ but I will not be enslaved by anything.” 1 Corinthians 6:12

One thought on “Foundation first, cookie later

  1. I appreciate you taking a stand for the Lord. I also appreciate that you don’t feel guilty – you aren’t depriving your precious child, you are blessing her the understanding that it is MORE important to do what is right, than to do what is fun. If we don’t say NO to our kids, they won’t learn to say NO themselves. I’m praising the Lord for this act of faith, sister.

Leave a Reply

