Living water

Jesus said, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

I know I struggle with trying to satisfy myself with the will of the world–emotional, physical and mental highs, to fill an emptiness in my heart. But spiritually, “living water” symbolizes the inner spring of joy of heart satisfaction that continually renews itself in the heart of the true believer … One who chooses God’s way instead of my own way, choosing to love God over myself. To make any other choice is to selfishly drink ordinary water that will never satisfy because it depends on circumstances. I know I look to people and things in an attempt to find contentment, but there’s never enough to make me truly happy.

But to drink the water promised by Jesus means our innermost emotional and spiritual needs are so completely and permanently met. Love, peace, joy and purpose. God’s gift of living water produces a profound contentment with God and His ways.

Related post: The Dead Feel Nothing

2 thoughts on “Living water

    • I have to pray everyday for God to help me not turn to others or things (but to Him) to fill my emptiness. I feel the desire in me to fill it with people. I have to fight against it so much. Makes me long for heaven! Jeremiah calls it Empty Cisterns:

      2:13 “For my people have done two evil things:
      They have abandoned me—
      the fountain of living water.
      And they have dug for themselves cracked cisterns
      that can hold no water at all!

Leave a Reply

