Unconditional love

Last week, my daughter had a day off from school on a day my son didn’t. So, I planned a mommy-daughter date. I tried to schedule manicures at the hair school nearby but would you believe she wanted none of that? Sigh. It was a good excuse to get pampered and I was disappointed she shot me down (of course, as a friend said jokingly, my son would probably have been all for it! lol). But, I got a long over-due hair cut anyway and she was very excited to come with me for that and sat and looked at hair magazines while she waited. So, there’s hope for my girlie yet. Anyway, we also went to the pet store to see the turtles, snakes, hamsters and her favorite–mice. There was one large mouse who spent quite a bit of time running on the wheel so Avery especially liked that one. Sadly, a woman picked him to purchase while we were watching … and he was not going to a happy place. Thankfully, Avery was clueless. From there, we had our lunch at a park and went out for ice cream.

Avery enjoyed her chocolate chip sundae topped with caramel and whipped cream while I sipped a strawberry orange juice (sounded intriguing so I had to try it). And it was good quality connection time. We didn’t talk about anything earth-shattering. I asked about school and her friends and we talked soccer strategy (I would be coaching her team’s game on Saturday ;). But there was one point that I hope really hit home, and if it’s the only thing she took away from our 4 hours together, it was all worthwhile (well, it was all worthwhile either way).

I looked her in the eyes and said, “I love you.” Pause. “Do you know why I love you?” With a sweet smile and a twinkle in her baby blues, she asked “Because I am cute?” I made a big deal of saying “NO! Well you are really cute, but that’s not why I love you. I love you because God gave you to me and you are my daughter.” I went on to talk about no matter what she did or what she looked like, I would love her. We talked about it again on Sunday night and at first she couldn’t remember, but then she said, “I know, I know! Because I am your child.” Right you are.

I thought of it again now because of my previous post. I didn’t really make the point that this is exactly how God feels about us. I think we forget. I know this to be true but I have a hard time feeling it with my heart. And that’s what makes us think that obedience or religion or doing “right” are so important. We are trying to earn God’s love when He’s already freely lavished it on us. I know I for one need to be reminded once in a while that I am God’s child. And he loves me. Me. I am His precious daughter. No matter what I have done or will do (and He knows it *all*), He loves me and calls me His child. Praise God that He has made that abundantly clear so that I don’t ever have to question His love, whether I feel it or not. And that God gives us His righteousness when we put our faith in Christ. There is nothing that we can do to earn it, and there is nothing that we can add to it, it is already perfect and complete.

“See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God; and so we are. Beloved, we are God’s children now, and what we will be has not yet appeared; but we know that when he appears we shall be like him, because we shall see him as he is. And everyone who thus hopes in him purifies himself as he is pure.” I John 3:1-3

3 thoughts on “Unconditional love

  1. This is great, Sara! It’s something that I’ve been trying to stress to my boys too and it’s amazing how it hits me back in the face, about whether or love I believe God loves me just because I’m His child. Simple yet hard truth. Glad to hear your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

