Love note

One of my love languages is definitely words (big shock, I am sure). Occasionally, my daughter will leave a note or artwork or even a piece of candy on my pillow for me to find when I go to bed. It’s really sweet but usually more about the action than the gifts or words themselves. Except this time. Last night, she told me in advance there was a note for me on my pillow. I had forgotten about it until after she’d gone to sleep when I found this:

“I love you mom. I love you because you are my mom.
Love, Avery”

Such a simple message (but still a tear jerker)! But one of truth and a great word of encouragement to me that she gets at least one thing I have been teaching her about love. That my love for her is not based on her actions and neither is God’s love for her. But instead it’s about who she *is* (or more accurately whose she is). I am so excited for her, if she can grasp the concept of unconditional love, that it’s not performance-based! We don’t need to try to earn God’s love when He’s already freely lavished it on us because we are *His.* There is nothing that we can do to earn it, and there is nothing that we can add to it or take it away, it is already perfect and complete. And it’s His love that then allows us to so freely love others. Praise the Lord!

“We love because he first loved us.” 1 John 4:19

2 thoughts on “Love note

  1. What a great note from Avery! And what a great truth for her to be taking to heart. When I ask Nate if he knows I love him, he says, “yes, because you tell me every day.” We’re praying for that love lesson to sink in too. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

