Good-byes are hard

“Some people come into our lives and quickly go.
Others stay a while, make footprints on our hearts and we are never, ever the same.”

2010

If you imagine your life as a soundtrack to a movie, sometimes there are moments when you hear the needle scratch the record and the upbeat music suddenly comes to a screeching halt. That’s what it felt like when I got the news that my friend Erica was moving.

I was coasting, emotionally, and hopeful but naive. We live in a mobile society. It is rather rare for people today to be born and grow up in the same house in the same neighborhood, as it might have been for previous generations. It’s a fact of life. Jobs change, families grow, life happens. People come and they go. It’s a lesson I’ve been learning, yet still haven’t accepted I guess. I know God is continually teaching me to rely on Him and not people.

20012010

I met Erica before kids, when we were both newlyweds. Gosh, about a decade ago now. She is a godly woman with a kindred spirit and I knew right away I wanted to spend more time with this woman. She was like a sister (and often mistaken as one by others … I didn’t usually correct them.). Erica was with me through two years of infertility, reminding me constantly that God has plan. She prayed expectantly for me, that God would give us a child. And she was there for me, in the delivery room, when my daughter was born. Now, our kids of similar ages are friends, too, and they will get a life lesson in this as they watch them move to another state. Erica also was there for me when my marriage was in trouble and I was afraid for our future. She prayed expectantly with me again, this time asking God to raise beauty from the ashes. She always spoke the truth of God’s word and pointed me to God, even when it hurt.

The past few years, life got in the way of our friendship, and now I look back and think about what ifs and should haves. We recently started making up for that time lost, and I am so thankful for the time God gave us together here and that we ended this era on a good note. But that doesn’t make the good-bye any easier. Not that this is the end. I’ve decided to say “see you later” instead.

The good news, as it is with biological sisters, it doesn’t matter how much time passes in between talks, we’ll always be able to connect on a heart-to-heart level as we always have been. And I really look forward to the new phase of our friendship, even if it does look a little different than what I am used to.

Love you, my friend.

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for good and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

One thought on “Good-byes are hard

  1. I’m torn between being happy that you’ve been blessed with such a friend and sad that she is moving. True friends are few and far between, I’m thankful your hearts have been bound together for His honor and glory in your lives. May you continue to grow together even though apart.

Leave a Reply

