Sometimes weeds aren’t weeds at all

BeforeBefore (Well, mostly, we’d already started on the left)

Weeds. Everyone knows weeds are bad for your garden. Sometimes there are more than we realize and other times we think we have things taken care of, but either way, we know they exist.

Weeds are a lot of work to remove and keep at bay. But every year in the spring, I weed our landscaping all around the house. I’m happy to do it at the time. The ground is thawing after a long winter and I’m ready to jump start the yard grooming by spending my time outside in the sun. Well, that lasts about two weeks. Then, I usually end up ignoring it most of the rest of the season. So, even with all the prep and prevention, all these weeds seem to find their way to our yard. Sigh. I begin to think: “why do I bother?” So, this year, in the worst area, which never seems to look nice no matter how hard I work … I *didn’t* bother. Wouldn’t you know it, it showed.

So, I finally decided to get serious. I called in one of my best friends, Susan (who was too kind and somehow able to hold her tongue for this long). And she helped me realize something I hadn’t given much thought to before: sometimes weeds aren’t weeds at all. Anything that’s growing where you don’t want it to is a weed. In my case, the “weed” was day lillies. They had taken over! The middle garden in my yard looked unkempt, even when I weeded, because the day lillies were running wild in there, choking my other flowers. They were so abundant that it was nearly impossible to see any of the other plants or even weeds that were hiding! We decided to pull almost all of them. We left one little clump by an old tree stump.

AfterAfter

The next day, I re-purposed the day lillies, planting them along the trail that borders our house, to help keep *those* weeds at bay. I can hardly contain my excitement the transformation that took place. I know it’s not going to win any landscaping awards (keep in mind, we’re not finished yet either, most of the transplanting needs to take place in the fall so we’ll move more things around then), but it makes all the difference to me.

It can be the same with life. Sometimes we get so focused on weed removal and prevention that we don’t realize there are day lillies taking over. Sometimes it’s not the obvious things that are wasting our time or causing us to sin, but those that seem “good” but keep us from being obedient to God and giving Him the glory. Take a look at your “garden” and be sure you make room for His purposes first and foremost, the results may bring joy and beauty into your life that you didn’t even realize wasn’t there.

“Then Jesus told his disciples, ‘If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it. For what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world and forfeits his soul? Or what shall a man give in return for his soul? For the Son of Man is going to come with his angels in the glory of his Father, and then he will repay each person according to what he has done. Truly, I say to you, there are some standing here who will not taste death until they see the Son of Man coming in his kingdom.’ ” –Matthew 16:24-28

One thought on “Sometimes weeds aren’t weeds at all

Leave a Reply

