Bittersweet

Yesterday was an emotional day. I cried several different times for several very different reasons! I’m learning not to be ashamed of who I am. And who I am is vulnerable to taking on the emotions of others (and I already have plenty of my own!). It’s pretty easy to find my soft spots. One is parent/child relationships. We finally saw the animated movie Tangled last night as a family. I wasn’t emotional at all about the story of Rapunzel, her evil “mother” or the kidnapping or anything. None of that even phased me … that is, until the screen was filled with the ever-hopeful aging parents, the beloved king and queen who had lost their princess 18 years ago, and you knew they were about to find out that their little girl was finally *home.* Makes my toes tingle just thinking about it!

But what really was heavy on my heart the past few days is my sister. I was barely even able to say “hello” without choking up when she called yesterday. She experienced a bittersweet reunion of a different kind. Her two foster children went home to be with their mom on Saturday. She knew the day would come, but after 17 months with a tenacious 6-month-old girl (now 2!) and a sweet 6-year-old boy, it was hard to say good-bye. I am so proud of her! She did what she knew God was asking her to do and what very few people are willing to do. She was there when those kids needed her the most. She sacrificed her life–her money, time, energy and even her heart–to care for those kids with all she had. And then let them go. Even though she is heartbroken now, she understands what’s best for the kids. And she knows that there are other kids who need her to be ready to open her home and her heart once again. I love you, Gina. God bless you for putting the lives of these children ahead of your own.

“Whoever receives one such child in my name receives me, and whoever receives me, receives not me but him who sent me.” John 9:37

One thought on “Bittersweet

  1. Beautiful, Sara. God bless your sister for caring for foster children. We need more people like her in the foster care system. I’ve heard way too many horror stories.

Leave a Reply

