Grain of faith

It was one year ago on this day that, with barely a mustard seed of faith, I would decide to trust God. I was blinded by my emotions and the gigantic mountain before me and unsure of what was to come. But God was clear what I needed to do, even though it would be painful. Thankfully, I had the support of a godly friend praying for me and encouraging me. And somehow, God gave me the courage to do what was right, even when I wanted to run and hide instead.

I wasn’t sure at first if today should be swept under the rug, celebrated or mourned. That is, until God made it so clear that even though the milestone is a reminder of the painful experience of the past year, there is so much good that has come from it and that’s what I am choosing to focus on. I wouldn’t trade what I learned about God and myself for anything. This was just the beginning of an important journey, one that was not easy but that had a purpose. The mustard seed planted on that day may have been small and imperfect, but it had great potential. God has been growing it to huge heights and … it will only continue to grow.

Obviously, if I could do it all over again, I would want to follow God and stay on His path to avoid that day altogether. I have paid a price for the foolish decisions I made. But I am thankful. God brought me through the experience to restore my relationship with Christ so that I could truly be healed emotionally and spiritually. And it is with hopeful expectation that I pray for opportunities to glorify God and serve Him in my life what I have learned, living proof that with faith as small as a mustard seed, God really can accomplish great things like move mountains (or carry you through them).

“For truly, I say to you, if you have faith like a grain of mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move, and nothing will be impossible for you.” Matthew 17:20b

One thought on “Grain of faith

Leave a Reply

