In the beginning …

How do you explain the concept of evolution to a child?

In attempting to do so last night when she was reading a scientific book about brown bears, even my daughter could hear how ridiculous it sounded. Try it. Uh, okay. “The author believes the mommy brown bear had a baby. Then that baby became a mommy and had a baby. Then that baby became a mommy and had a baby … and so it continued until the brown bear became a polar bear.” Her response? “Whaaaat? That doesn’t make any sense!” Smart girl.

Okay, so maybe I am a little biased in my description of evolution. But it did make me stop to think. If I really did believe in it, how would I explain it? I really couldn’t come up with a better way to make sense of it for a 5 and 7 year old.

What I can make sense of (and I know this isn’t true for everyone) is that the Bible is God’s Word. And God’s Word is true. In God’s Word it says, “In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth.” How much simpler is that?

“In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth.” Gensesis 1:1

Leave a Reply

