Before and after


The New Leaf Ultra Runs club recently sent out a call for photos. Photos of runners who weigh less because of running more. I never really considered myself “fat” but there were all kinds of submissions so I took the opportunity to look through old photos. I didn’t have a lot of me. It’s not surprising. I usually am the one with the camera! But I also had no interest in allowing anyone to take pictures of me anyway, and I would delete the most unflattering ones when I did. So, it wasn’t an easy task. I was shocked though at what I did find.

Before is from my 10th anniversary trip in July 2010 (so at least I had the sense to keep every photo). It was the peak of my weight gain at about 170 pounds. Although I was running some at the time, it wasn’t much and definitely not enough to make up for how much I loved to eat! I would lose 10 pounds every summer and gain 15 in the winter, so I was in an upward spiral. I was also an emotional eater and not emotionally healthy at the time.

Having two babies in the meantime didn’t help, but my youngest was 4 at the time so I can’t blame the kids. I just couldn’t get that weight off. I knew I was going to have to do something different.

I finally began taking running more seriously (that’s to say actually increasing quantity and quality because in reality it became more fun again) AND making drastic changes to my diet. Of course it wouldn’t have been possible without addressing emotional and spiritual needs, too. I lost about 35 pounds in about a year and, thankfully, have been able to maintain my weight at 135 pounds, fairly easily (meaning not having to keep restrictions that I started with).

I am grateful for the opportunity to reminisce, to remember how hard I worked and what a difference it made–physically and mentally. Praise God for His mercy!

“Now may the God of peace himself sanctify you completely, and may your whole spirit and soul and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.” 1 Thessalonians 5:23

2 thoughts on “Before and after

  1. This is just the additional motivation I am needing right now. You have shown me–it CAN be done. I’m 1/3 of the way to my weight loss goal and these pics are amazing. You were never fat, that is for sure, but your slim and trim look is fabulous. If I could only get there. I just have to keep reminding myself that it’s not overnight… you wrote that it took you a year. A year of hard work. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

