Fullness of Joy

I’m hungry.

When I’m hungry, I get easily distracted by the things that I want to eat. Pizza, ice cream, chocolate, maybe some fruit, but definitely chocolate.

What my body really needs though is protein and fruits and lots of veggies. And water, I definitely don’t drink enough water.

I do eat healthy foods, but I never spend much time thinking about, planning for or dreaming about veggies, for sure. At least not in a positive way (more like dread than anticipation!). I’m trying to eat healthy so I work really hard to sneak veggies in or be intentional about avoiding the candy bowl. Sometimes I succeed and a lot of times I don’t … Even though I know that’s what’s good for me and I WANT to be healthy. I just don’t want to take the steps to get there.

I’m realizing the exact same thing is happening in my spiritual life. I’m hungry. I’m yearning for more, more out of this life, a purpose. It’s not that life is bad. It’s not, it’s actually very good. But I keep getting distracted. I’ve been trying to fulfill my own desires with people, so I’m not lonely; medals and trophies, so I feel special; home projects, so I feel accepted and equal to my peers; and work, so I feel valued.

None of these are bad or wrong. But with a diet focused only on what I wanted and not what my spirit needed, I am missing out on what truly satisfies. God made me to fulfill a purpose. While I have been yearning to know what that purpose is, I haven’t been taking the steps to get there by prioritizing my time with Him. Instead of sitting down to a satisfying meal, I’m sneaking in spinach in a smoothie on-the-go. That’s okay when occasionally life demands it, sometimes we need to find ways to be healthy, despite the circumstances. But I need to take more time to slow down, to reflect, to ponder, to study and to connect with my Creator. As I spend time with God to remember who He is and who I am in Him, I am able to find joy in Him and fulfill my purpose in Him.

“You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.” Psalm 16:7

2 thoughts on “Fullness of Joy

  1. Hi Sara, Nice! I agree and it is good to have the start of the school year to focus in on a regular routine and spending time with God daily.

    I also checked out your website and it looks great! All the different areas of your work are laid out very well. The site has a professional and friendly feeling.

    Love, Lora

Leave a Reply

